Area Communities

Jefferson County is strategically located along Interstate 15 and Interstate 90, between some of Montana’s bustling economies and among some of the most beautiful and preserved mountains and valleys. With our low tax rates and beautiful surroundings, Jefferson County is a great place to live and do business.

The County has two incorporated towns, Whitehall and Boulder and more than six smaller unincorporated communities including: Cardwell, Elk Park, Basin, Jefferson City, Clancy and Montana City.